Blog, the Magnificent Ferret

First, allow me a brief introduction. My name is David Lee Summers. I’ve written five novels: The Pirates of Sufiro, Children of the Old Stars, Heirs of the New Earth, The Solar Sea and Vampires of the Scarlet Order.  You can learn more about them and me at my website: www.davidleesummers.com

I also edit a science fiction, fantasy, and horror magazine called Tales of the Talisman published by Hadrosaur Productions. The magazine is in its fourth year under the current name. However, if you count its days as Hadrosaur Tales it has been around for fourteen years. For more information, visit: www.talesofthetalisman.com

As my first post on WordPress, I thought I’d share some thoughts I first wrote in 2005 about the world of blogging in general.

The other day, I was watching The New Scooby-Doo Movies with my kids. The episode was “Scooby-Doo Meets Dick Van Dyke.” In this episode, Dick Van Dyke has fallen on hard times and runs a carnival all by himself. Of course the carnival is haunted and Scooby and the gang must help out. As I was watching, I caught sight of something in the background that caused me to nearly fall out of my chair. One of the sideshow attractions was “Blog, the Magnificent Ferret — ten feet tall, 24 stone. See Blog, 10 cents.”

This episode of Scooby-Doo was made over thirty years ago. If that little bit of background art wasn’t prophetic science fiction, I don’t know what is. Now, I’ve been following some web logs over the past few years and it’s impossible not to notice the media attention they’ve garnered. Blogs run the gamut from insightful, provocative political discourse worthy of discussion in major newspapers to vitriolic personal attacks that would make an episode of Jerry Springer look tame. I submit that no matter where they are in that spectrum, blogs are a sideshow attraction. The better web journals serve the same purpose as the Op-Ed pages of newspapers, but like Op-Ed pages, they don’t drive the news so much as provide feedback on what is happening in the news, much like surveys and polls. The worst blogs are like reality TV, except you don’t get to see anyone throw chairs. Like a 10-foot ferret, blogs have teeth. However, like any good sideshow attraction, you have to wonder whether the teeth have substance and you always know that if one attraction fails to please, there are more down the midway. At least blogs don’t cost money… not even ten cents!

Finally, I submit this little web journal is really just another sideshow attraction. My goal is to share some information about my adventures in publishing along with the occasional thought and opinion. At any rate, I hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

