Upcoming Conventions

MileHiCon 41

I will be a participant at MileHiCon 41 in Denver, CO at the Hyatt Regency Tech Center. Most of my panels will be on Saturday, October 24, but you might well find me slumming at the Science Fiction Trails Publishing table in the Dealer’s Room if I’m not scheduled to be on a panel. All of my books will be available along with recent issues of Tales of the Talisman Magazine.

On Saturday, October 24, I’m scheduled as follows:

  • 10am in Wind River A: Panel – The Science of Science Fiction.
  • 1pm in Wind River A: Science presentation – Infrared Astronomy. In this presentation, I’ll talk about infrared astronomy and what new instruments at Kitt Peak National Observatory are being used to look at the infrared universe. Also, I’ll talk a little about the upcoming James Webb Space Telescope and why it’s being optimized to work in the infrared.
  • 3pm in Mesa Verde A: SF Poetry Slam
  • 4m in Wind River A: Panel – Hollywood vs. Science.
  • 10pm in Mesa Verde C: Reading. I’m tentatively planning to read an excerpt from my latest novel The Solar Sea. However, if you’ll be at MileHiCon and you have a request, please feel free to leave it in comments.
  • TusCon 36

    I will be a participant and dealer at TusCon 36 at the InnSuites Hotel in Tucson, Arizona. I am scheduled to do the following:

    On Saturday, November 14:

  • 12pm in the St. Augustine Room: Panel – Shameless Self-promotion for the Creative Introvert.
  • 1pm in the Gold Ballroom: Panel – The Secret to Being a Published Author.
  • 4pm in the Gold Ballroom: Panel – How Much Sex is Too Much?
  • On Sunday, November 15:

  • 1pm in the McArthur Room: Panel – Non-traditional Publishing: from specialty press to the digital age.
  • 2pm in the El Dorado Room: Reading. As with MileHiCon, I’m tentatively planning to read an excerpt from my latest novel The Solar Sea. However, if you’ll be at TusCon and you have a request, please feel free to leave it in comments.
  • Hadrosaur Productions will have a table in the Dealer’s Room. To get a preview of what we’ll have available, or if you won’t be able to make it to TusCon and would like to shop anyway, you can visit the Hadrosaur Productions On-line Bookstore.

    SFPA On-line Halloween Poetry Reading

    The Science Fiction Poetry Association’s on-line Halloween Poetry Reading is going on right now. Drop by www.sfpoetry.com/halloween.html to hear some great Halloween-themed poems read by the poets themselves. You’ll find poetry by such folks as Lyn C.A. Gardner, Karen A. Romanko, David C. Kopaska-Merkel, Marcie Lynn Tentchoff, John S. Tumlin and many more. I read my new poem “The Armadillos of Castle Dracula” which explains why Renfield encounters armadillos in the 1931 film of Dracula starring Bela Lugosi.

    One comment on “Upcoming Conventions

    1. Just a brief update. My mom passed away a few days ago and her funeral will be on Monday, November 16. I still plan to attend TusCon — I think spending time with friends is the best way to lift my spirits. However, my schedule has changed somewhat. I will now be reading on Friday at 5pm. I have received a request to read a chapter from my novel-in-progress called Owl Dance. I’ll also plan to read a short section from The Solar Sea. Unfortunately, I will not be able to participate in the Non-traditional Publishing panel on Sunday afternoon as noted above.

    Leave a Reply

    