Updates for a New Year

Hope everyone’s year is off to a great start. It’s been a while since I’ve had a chance to post an update to the web journal. Some of that has been juggling work and the holidays. Some of it has been me taking a little time to myself to come to terms with my mom’s passing in November. At any rate, I wanted to pass along some news and information that might be of interest.

Upcoming Events

On Jan 28th at 9PM Eastern Time, David Boop will be hosting a show on Blogtalk Radio for Red River Writers – Works of Writers & Artists Worldwide on genre publishing. He kicks off the show on the 28th with Moshe Feder – editor at Tor, agent Michael Kabongo, and I’ll be along as well.

Looking further ahead, I am humbled to be one of the author guests of honor along with Stephen R. Donaldson and Weston Ochse at CopperCon in Phoenix, Arizona from September 4-6, 2010. Follow the link for more details.

Unfortunately, I’ve had to turn down a couple of convention invitations this spring because I’m slated for jury duty. Even though conventions typically happen on weekends and jury duty is during the week, I promised my co-workers at Kitt Peak that I’d remain available on the weekends during the months of jury duty. Two operators need to be on duty most nights and people have to fill in for me even if I’m gone for jury duty. It puts far less strain on everyone if I’m available to trade nights rather than simply make someone work in my place!

Tales of the Talisman

Tales of the Talisman is open to submissions until February 15. We’ve been receiving some great stories. There are so many that I’m afraid I’ll have to turn away more good ones than I’d like just because there isn’t room. Still, that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t submit. Your story may be the very best in the stack and I’ll select it over another. For information about submissions, read the guidelines at: www.talesofthetalisman.com/gl.html

While on the subject of Tales of the Talisman you can now visit us on Facebook at: www.facebook.com/TalesOfTheTalisman. If you’re on Facebook, please show your support by becoming a fan.

Also, just to note, a rather serious storm is moving through the Southwest as I’m writing this and it appears that Tales of the Talisman’s email is occasionally bouncing messages. Please be patient, our ISP is aware of the problem and it’s system wide. If your message bounces, wait a little while and try again.

Vampyr Verse

My poem “Skinwalker” appears in the anthology Vampyr Verse published by Popcorn Press. The collection also includes poetry by such talented poets as Gary Every, Elizabeth Barrette, Sue Burke, Lester Smith, David C. Kopaska-Merkel and more. Visit the Vampyr Verse page to learn more about how you can sink your teeth into this great collection!

Looking Ahead

Looks like 2010 is off to a good start for me. In addition to four great issues of Tales of the Talisman, I’m working on no less than three book projects. I’ll have more news about those as the dust settles and details firm up a bit more. Hope your year is off to a great start as well!

Leave a Reply

