Wild Wild West Con and Other Updates

This coming weekend — March 4, 5 and 6 — I’ll be a guest at Wild Wild West Con being held at Old Tucson Studios outside of Tucson, Arizona. Wild Wild West Con is a Steampunk convention that features many different aspects of Steampunk culture, including music, art, costuming, and writing. You can learn all about the convention at http://www.wildwildwestcon.com

My schedule is as follows:

Friday, March 4 – 1:30pm: I’ll be available for a signing and Q&A session. Come get books signed. If you don’t have books, no problem, find them at the Hadrosaur Productions table at the Vendor Area over at Stage 2. The Q&A is at the North Chapel.

Friday, March 4 – 4:20pm: I’ll be doing a presentation on Victorian Astronomy. Come learn about the mad scientists and extraordinary inventions that brought about the modern age of astronomy. The presentation is at the Courthouse.

Saturday, March 5 – 1:00pm: I’ll be reading from my forthcoming book, Owl Dance, at the Baroness’ Tea Party held at the Grand Palace Saloon. Also reading at the event are O.M. Grey, Cherie Priest, Nick Valentino, Gayle Martin & Elizabeth Darvill.

When I’m not at these events, look for me at the Vendor Area at Old Tucson’s Stage 2. Hadrosaur Productions will have a dealer’s table with a number of Wild West and Steampunk items along with other great science fiction and fantasy books.

Related to Wild Wild West Con, I spent three hours this past weekend at the Bookmans in Tucson on Speedway and Wilmot signing books. There was generally good traffic through the store and I sold books while Nicole and Mark Cantwell gave out information about the convention. I really appreciate Wild Wild West Con setting up the event. I had a terrific time.

Part 2 of Dragon’s Fall Now Available

The Dragon’s Quest, the second novella in the Dragon’s Fall series, is now available. Dragon’s Fall is the prequel of my novel Vampires of the Scarlet Order and tells about the origin of the Scarlet Order of vampire mercenaries. In The Dragon’s Quest we meet Lord Draco and learn how he became a vampire. Learn all about the novella at: http://dlsummers.wordpress.com/excerpts/dragons-fall-the-dragons-quest/. Remember, you can keep up to date about the series and be alerted to new releases by subscribing to the RSS Feed at http://dlsummers.wordpress.com.

Other Updates

In my last post, I mentioned that Flying Pen Press had accepted my Steampunk adventure Owl Dance. Contract discussions have continued since then and have been moving in a generally positive direction. I hope to have more news in a week or so.

In the meantime, I’m working to read the last few stories received during the Tales of the Talisman reading period. My goal is to have answers out to people by March 15. However, due to circumstances beyond my control, my work schedule at Kitt Peak National Observatory has become less predictable than normal. Also, my doctor has been sending me out for some testing to uncover the source of some pain that recently developed. The result is, I might be a little later than March 15 getting back to people, but I hope not by more than a week. I apologize for the delay and will try to keep it as minimal as possible.

Leave a Reply

