A Few Updates for December

Starting with the week of Thanksgiving, I’ve been scheduled for three longer-than-normal work shifts at Kitt Peak National Observatory. I worked a nine-night shift the week of Thanksgiving. I’m in the middle of a seven-night shift now. Fortunately I get one night off in the middle so I can participate in the Yuletide Universe Book Signing at the Poisoned Pen Bookstore in Scottsdale, Arizona — more about that in a bit. Finally, I wrap up December with a seven-night shift at the observatory that spans Christmas. As usual, the work is interesting, but the nights this time of year are long. Typically, I get a nine-hour break from about 7am till about 4pm to sleep and check in with my family. The rest of the time I’m at the telescope working. My work nights range from rapid-fire sessions moving the telescope from one bright star to another to more sedate nights where we spend hours on one target trying to gather as many photons as we can from some distant object.

During my most recent days off, I put the finishing touches on my novel Dragon’s Fall. This is a prequel to Vampires of the Scarlet Order. The first two parts have been released as standalone novellas entitled Bondage and The Dragon’s Quest. The whole book has five parts and each part was going to be released separately. However, my publisher has decided to cut to the chase and release the entire novel in one shot. It’ll be available both in print and ebook editions. I’ll be sure to keep you posted about those. You can also get more details at my vampire site: dlsummers.wordpress.com.

Finally, I wanted let people know about three exciting events coming up.

  • December 11, 2011.
    I’ll be signing copies of Owl Dance, The Solar Sea, and anything else they have on hand at The Poisoned Pen Bookstore in Scottsdale, Arizona from 2-5pm as part of the Yuletide Universe Celebration. Also on hand will be Michael Stackpole, Kevin Hearne, Sam Sykes, Lisa McMann, Janni Lee Simner, and Joseph Nassise.
  • January 13-16, 2012.
    I will be a guest at Her Royal Majesty’s Steampunk Symposium aboard the Queen Mary in Long Beach, California. This promises to be an amazing event. There will be ghost tours, dances, readings, games and more! Other guests include Unwoman, Jon Magnificent, Steam Powered Giraffe, O.M. Grey, the folks behind Mantecoza and more.
  • January 17, 2012.
    I will be signing copies of Owl Dance at Mysterious Galaxy in Redondo Beach, California from 7:30pm to 8:30pm.

I hope you’ll join me at one or more of these events! In the meantime, I hope you have a wonderful and safe holiday season!

Leave a Reply

