Looking Back at 2012

It’s hard to believe that 2012 is almost over. As I look back at the year, I have to say that it’s been quite a ride. I published a novel, a novella, seven short stories, a non-fiction article, two poems, was co-author of a scientific paper, edited four issues of Tales of the Talisman Magazine and two novels, and published an award anthology of poetry. Here you can see me with a number of the shorter works. Since the novel’s an ebook, it gets its own place of honor to the right.

Another important achievement this year was the publication of the ebook edition of my wild west steampunk adventure Owl Dance. If you haven’t already, this is the final day you can pick up your free copy in the five days of Owl Dance promotion. Just click the picture below. (If you don’t have a Kindle, no problem, just download one of the free apps from Amazon!)

Owl Dance Cover

Not only did I publish the stories, I was a speaker at Her Royal Majesty’s Steampunk Symposium, ConDor, Gaslight Gathering, Phoenix Comicon, Bubonicon, CopperCon and last but not least, I was fan guest of honor at TusCon.

On top of all that, I continued my full-time job helping astronomers explore the universe using the telescopes at Kitt Peak National Observatory. Just before Christmas, I learned that I was promoted from “Observing Assistant” to “Observing Associate.”

Through it all, I’ve done my best to keep you posted about my doings here at the Web Journal. As the year wraps up, I’m honored to be nominated for five amazing blog awards from the talented and dynamic Emily Guido, author of the “Light Bearer Series.” Over the course of this year, I have watched her go from being a self-published author to signing a five-book contract with a publisher. She’s now working her way through a Masters of Business Administration degree. Follow her at: authoremilyguido.com/.

She nominated me for Blog of the Year 2012, the Time Machine Award, the Reality Award, the Liebster Award, and the Very Inspirational Blogger Award. Wow! Here are just a couple of the award icons:

Blog of the Year Award 1 star thumbnail
Very Inspirational Blogger

The true value of these awards is that they remind me that I could not have achieved any of this without my family, good friends at work, and in the writing world. Thank you all! Some of these people have blogs. Some don’t. Here’s a rundown of some of the people who have gone the extra mile and have blogs that you should check out:

So will 2013 prove to be as awesome as 2012? Only time will tell. What I can tell you is that the next thing on my schedule is Her Royal Majesty’s Steampunk Symposium in Long Beach, California. Learn more about the convention at their website: www.hrmsteam.com. It’s a great way to kick off the year and I hope to see you there!

3 comments on “Looking Back at 2012

  1. Congratulations on all your success this year! You are one of the first people I met on this blog like Paula Acton and M.S. Fowle. Everyone has been wonderful, and I’m touched by all of the support I have received being a new author and just starting out! Thanks again and I hope you have a very prosperous New Year! Sincerely, Emily

  2. […] Looking Back at 2012 (davidleesummers.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

