My WordPress Family

This has been a hectic week. Normally I would just be finishing a long break from the observatory, but I spent two days back in the middle of my time off, so one of my co-workers could have time to run in the Boston Marathon. In exchange, I’ll get some extra time off for Phoenix Comicon next month. In addition to time at the observatory, I’ve been typesetting the Kepler’s Dozen anthology. It’s taking shape and looks like it’ll be ready to send to the printer soon. You can learn more and even pre-order a copy at www.hadrosaur.com/kepler.html

Wordpress Family Award

In the run-up to this busy week, Emily Guido presented me with the WordPress Family Award. Emily is a cherished member of my WordPress family. She has “liked” almost all of my posts and commented on many of them. Her support means the world to me. She’s the author of the Light-Bearer series which tells the story of how an angelic light-bearer named Charmeine fell in love with her polar opposite, a vampiric Blood Hunter named Tabruis. Go visit her blog and learn more.

Really, all of these blog awards are about paying it forward, and the rules for this one are super simple. All the recipient is asked to do are recommend ten other members of their WordPress family. All of the folks I name certainly qualify. Some have hosted (or will be hosting) guest blogs. Some have interviewed me. Some have just posted a few likes or a comment here or there—but those are the kinds of things are greatly appreciated and keep me going. Some of these folks have been recommended before and some are new. Whether you have seen them on one of these lists before or not, each of these people has something inspirational, interesting, or engaging to offer. I hope you go check out their blogs and I hope they take a little time to recommend some they like.

  • Deby Fredericks is the author of Wyrmflight, a “blog for kids (and everyone else) who loves dragons.” She’s also the author of Seven Exalted Orders a wonderful fantasy novel it was my pleasure to edit.
  • Melinda Moore is the author of Enchanted Spark, a blog that looks at the craft of writing. She is also the author of stories in Tales of the Talisman and has a story in A Kepler’s Dozen.
  • F.T. McKinstry discusses world creation and shares poetry at her blog. She’s another Tales of the Talisman contributor.
  • Elizabeth Campbell and a bunch of other cool people blog at DarkCargo.com. They talk about all manner of speculative fiction books, events, writing, television. You name a speculative fiction topic, it’s probably there!
  • Another collective blog is STEAMED which discusses all manner of steampunk writing. I’m scheduled for a guest post there next month.
  • Nrlymrtl reviews books, interviews authors, and hosts read-alongs at Dab of Darkness.
  • What Writers Say is a blog of inspirational quotations from famous writers.
  • Bell Night presents profiles of famous writers, including little known facts about them.
  • Paige Addams shares her paranormal romance works in progress, along with thoughts on the process of writing.
  • Shannon A. Thompson is a writer who gives excellent, practical writing tips on her blog.
4 comments on “My WordPress Family

  1. Thanks for the mention, David. It was a pleasure to work with an editor who understands the genre so well.

    By the way, if any of your readers are interested, my newest podcast will start later today. “The Weight of Their Souls” is a Nortonesque swords and sorcery novelette about a ragged band making their way home after an epic battle. Episodes will be on Podbean and my web site; links to each will appear in my blog.

  2. nrlymrtl says:

    Thanks for the shout out David. Looks like I am in good company too!

Leave a Reply

