Resurrection Bay

This weekend I’m at Phoenix Comicon. If you’re anywhere near Phoenix, you need to get down here and check this out. This is a huge event featuring many fabulous writers, artists, and TV stars.

In the meantime, I have learned that my friend Jim Chandler has just published his first novel. Jim has been a regular contributor to Tales of the Talisman Magazine and I have been pleased to watch his career grow over the years. If you can’t make it to Phoenix Comicon, go buy his book right now. If you can make it to Phoenix Comicon, see you soon. Buy Jim’s book as soon as you’re back home!

Without further ado, here’s Jim to introduce you to his debut novel, Resurrection Bay.


Resurrection Bay

I’ve always loved stories that explore time. If there is an additional aspect of the strange or unexplained, I’m all in. I believe that there is much more to our universe than we commonly perceive, and that some people are more tuned in to phenomena that most of us ignore. I’ve traveled to many places that seemed to me to have a different, magical energy to them. And perceptive people have told me that my house is occupied by friendly, happy spirits.

One of my favorite stories has always been Somewhere in Time. The hero commits to the belief that he is in fact no longer in 1969, but 1912. The power of that belief makes it so, and a wonderful love story follows.

When I was first married, my wife believed that I would stay around for a few years, then leave. That’s what she believed from experience that most men do. But we just celebrated our 30th anniversary. I meant it when I made the commitment. It has been important to me to prove to her that I’m one of the good ones. The idea for my book grew from those roots.

Does all love eventually fade? If someone were to say, “I will love you forever,” what would it be like if he really meant it? What is the power of our devotion? Could it be strong enough to overcome the constraints of time and space?

My hero commits to his love and his devotion is unshakeable.

I finished the story in 2007, and sent it off to a NYC publisher. Never heard back. Not even a form letter of refusal. So I sent it out to another publishing house and waited the year they require to consider. At least I got the letter from that one. I even joined Romance Writers of America to learn more about the genre.

I worked on my writing skills, and submitted a bunch of short stories. You can find my work in Tales of the Talisman. Each time the book was away, the story kept pulling at me. Maybe the reason it didn’t sell was that it still wasn’t done. It wasn’t quite right.

I lost my job and went into long-haul trucking to keep from losing the house. Kept working on the book. On a run through California, I picked up a hitch-hiker who inspired a re-work of one of the main characters. Sarah wasn’t right until I put a whole lot of Jess into her. Wherever Jess is today, I hope she reads this and feels my gratitude for our short encounter.

That seemed to be the catalyst the universe wanted. After that revision, I decided I loved the book. This was finally exactly the story I wanted to tell, and I was ready to send it out again.

But I was discouraged by my earlier attempts. I wanted it out there at last. I didn’t want to sit around and wait while my manuscript sat on someone’s desk, under a pile of other manuscripts. So I kept it for another year, without doing anything. Counter-productive? I sought advice, and David Lee Summers pointed me to www.smashwords.com.

It wasn’t difficult to reformat the book for the E-publishing upload, and it didn’t cost me a dime. It’s exciting to be able to watch as people check out and download Resurrection Bay. I have a lot of control. As of today, the book is available at Smashwords. If you want to find it on their website, turn off the adult content filter. It’s a paranormal romance, so of course there is material that is not suitable for under-18’s. The direct link for the book is: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/315193

By the end of May, you will be able to find it lots of places. Smashwords distributes to Sony, Apple, Epub, Barnes and Noble, Kobo and several others.

I would be happy to trade ideas and hear criticisms of the book. Another cool thing about e-publishing is that if I’ve made a big error (hard to believe after ten years of working on it), I can make a change to correct it. I guess I’m going to have to finally get a blog site, Facebook, Twitter and all that. For now, if you pick up the book and want to talk about it, you can send me an e-mail at jim.r.chandler [at] att [dot] net.

2 comments on “Resurrection Bay

  1. nrlymrtl says:

    You did that truck stop story with the native american gods, right? That was a unique mashup and has stuck with me since I read it.

    • Jim Chandler says:

      I did that while still driving. The whistling bumpers are amazing, and a little strange, especially when you’re out there in the middle of nowhere. I have no idea what makes some of them have different ranges of tones. When I shared, David suggested I tie in Kachina, so I did some research and found their boogey man. As it turns out, there are similar spirit wind beliefs in native cultures all over the world. The wind that kills (fill in the blank) is everywhere. I doubt that I’ll make it to 1001 uses for duct tape, but I figured it was a humorous and pragmatic way to end the story. I’m glad you enjoyed it. One of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

