From Wolves to Sharks

I had a wonderful time at TusCon in Tucson, Arizona last weekend. I was on four good panels where we discussed topics as diverse as the benefits of a day job to your writing, whether the future is knowable or not, and the similarities and differences between monsters and megalomaniacs. Here I am in front of the Hadrosaur Productions table with Pimpzilla. I especially love his cane topped with train.

Pimpzilla

Although the dealer’s room at TusCon never seemed especially crowded, we had good sales. Of particular note, Lightning Wolves was quite popular and we sold out. This is especially welcome since my plan for November had been to focus on the novel’s sequel, The Brazen Shark.

If you would like to know a little more about The Brazen Shark and my writing process, I talk about both in a fun mini-interview with Wendy Rathbone.

Unfortunately, my work schedule at the observatory doesn’t really allow me to participate in the National Novel Writing Month. The nights in November get long, and I can’t guarantee I can write on nights I’m at the observatory. That said, two of my co-workers each offered to work a night for me this month. It’s only two nights, but it’s very welcome and gives me hope that I might get a word count similar to what I would if I were participating in NaNoWriMo.

Weeping-Angel

As it turns out, I’m less concerned about word count than I am having quality time to do research. Much of The Brazen Shark is set in Russia and Japan of the nineteenth century. I have a lot of research to do for this novel. Of course, returning to my weekend at TusCon briefly, perhaps I could turn to my daughter for help. She won the costume contest in the science fiction category for her weeping angel costume from Doctor Who. The Weeping Angels send people back in time. Perhaps she can send me to Sakhalin Island of 1877!

8 comments on “From Wolves to Sharks

  1. So you went to this convention with Godzilla-dressed-as-a-pimp? Must have been a crazy weekend.

  2. Laine Jensen says:

    Lol – The angel who sends you back in time. Now, there is a story from a story 🙂

    • Absolutely! In fact, my daughter came up with a whole story for her particular angel. The Weeping Angels on Doctor Who are pretty scary villains, but her’s actually is a “Healing Weeping Angel” who helps people, more like a real angel. All kinds of wonderful twists and turns in the story behind this costume!

  3. dm yates says:

    Augghh! I love it!

  4. rich1698 says:

    Fantastic costume- Don’t blink and don’t look away lol

Leave a Reply

