Wild Wild West Con 4

The Wild Wild West Steampunk Convention 4 will be held in Tucson, Arizona from March 6-8, 2015 at Old Tucson Studios. In 2014, it received the Steampunk Chronicle Reader’s Choice Award for Best Steampunk Convention in the Southwest. I’m honored to be one of the featured guests alongside such people as Abney Park, Steam Powered Giraffe, Drake and McTrowell, Brian Kesinger, Thomas Willeford, Eric Burton, and David Grasse. Visit www.wildwestcon.com for more information.

WWWC4_300px-300x240

I’ll be giving several panels and workshops over the weekend. Here’s my schedule:

Friday, March 6

  • 1:00 HIGH CHAPARRAL: Victorians and the Paranormal – Ghosts, séances, vampires, you name it, the Victorians probably believed in it. An exploration of Victorian encounters with the dead.
  • 5:00 COURTROOM CENTER: Building a Steampunk Telescope – I show you how to build a telescope that’s not only fashionable, but functional and easy to use. I present tips on where to buy optics and detailed construction information.

Saturday, March 7

  • 12:00 CHAPEL: Steampunk Flash Fiction – Compose an entire story of 200 words or less? Surely it can’t be done! I presents a make and take workshop where you compose a very short steampunk tale.
  • 3:00 COURTHOUSE: Drake and McTrowell’s Hot Potato School of Writing. The authors of Drake & McTrowell will lead two guest authors (of which I will be one) and the audience in a madcap improvisational writing game show reminiscent of their signature “Hot Potato” team writing style.
  • 5:00 HIGH CHAPARRAL: Writing Steampunk – Steampunk writers gather to discuss the research that goes into their writing, what makes Steampunk special to them, and how they get their work published. With me on the panel are David Grasse and Stephen Chapman.

When I’m not giving a presentation, you can find me in the Vendor Barn sharing a table with Dr. Sparky McTrowell and Chief Inspector Erasmus Drake. I’ll have all of my steampunk books, plus an assortment of other fun reading materials. Be sure to stop by and say “hi!”

6 comments on “Wild Wild West Con 4

  1. jmsabbagh says:

    Impressive blog,l enjoyed browsing through the posts.Thank you so much for following my blog..Best regards.

  2. David,

    I attended your Flash-Fiction session at WWC4 and ran with the concept. Please see the following blog post of mine and tell me what you think: http://www.tinker1881.com/flash-fiction/

    For one thing, did I quote you correctly (as “Formula #1”)? I lost the sheet you handed out and went by memory. For another, what do you think of my formula #2? Any thoughts on improving it?

    PS. I thoroughly enjoyed Owl Dance (despite 2 small anachronisms your editor missed 😦 ) and I’m enjoying the sequel even more. Keep up the good work.

    • Norman,

      I think your blog post is great and I like the idea of introducing a random element such as dice in your formula #2. I’ve done similar things in other workshops where I have suggestions on pieces of paper and have the attendees draw them at random. It’s a good way to get a story idea flowing.

      I compared your description of my formula #1 to my worksheet and yours is a good summary. Thanks for the shout-out in the post!

      Also, delighted to hear that you enjoyed Owl Dance and are enjoying Lightning Wolves. Many thanks! I’ll be turning in the third book to my editor in a little under six weeks. I’m busy revising right now.

      As for the anachronisms — there are a couple of deliberate ones I know about. The world of Ramon and Fatemeh before Legion’s involvement is mostly our world, but not exactly. That said, yeah, I could have missed a couple of things I didn’t intend to be anachronisms, too.

Leave a Reply

