Walks Through the Cemetery – Part 2

Continuing my series on how walking through the local cemetery has inspired some of my writing.

The Scarlet Order

Last week, I discussed how walks through the cemetery provide historical inspiration. In addition, walking helps me clear my head and focus better on my writing. Walking through the cemetery is really just an easy and practical choice because it’s one of the nicest spaces in my neighborhood to go for a stroll without worrying about traffic. Of course, it’s also interesting to discover someone in the cemetery who is in the history books and has been immortalized in many books and films.

Pat_Garrett

The photo shows the grave site of Pat Garrett and his wife Apolinaria. Pat Garrett is most famous as the man who shot Billy the Kid in 1881. He also investigated the disappearance of attorney and newspaperman Albert Jennings Fountain, who I’ll discuss in a later post of this series. Toward the end of his life, Garrett was appointed a customs collector in El Paso, Texas by…

View original post 132 more words

Leave a Reply

