The Brazen Shark Available for Pre-Order

Brazen Shark-300x450 I am proud to announce that the ebook edition of my ninth novel, The Brazen Shark, is now available for pre-order from Amazon.com! The Brazen Shark is the third novel of the Clockwork Legion series which began in Owl Dance and continues in Lightning Wolves. In this latest chapter, pirate captain, inventor, and entrepreneur Onofre Cisneros sweeps his friends Fatemeh and Ramon Morales off to Hawaii for their honeymoon. Once there, a British agent makes Cisneros an offer he can’t refuse and the captain must travel to Japan. Wanting to see more of the world, Ramon and Fatemeh ask to accompany the captain only to find themselves embroiled in a plot by samurai who steal a Russian airship, hoping to overthrow the Japanese emperor. I hope you’ll join me for this thrilling ride!

Back when the first Star Trek movie came out, Pocket Books acquired the rights to release the tie-in novels. I read each new one ravenously and one of my favorite authors was Robert E. Vardeman. In the years since, I’ve discovered Bob’s other series and my respect for his work has grown. He’s written more than fifty science fiction and fantasy novels and he writes amazing historical westerns under the pen name Karl Lassiter. He’s combined his love of science fiction and history in his steampunk novella Gateway to Rust and Ruin and you can find his story “The Transmogrification Ray” in Steampunk’d edited by Jean Rabe and Martin Greenberg. I was honored when Bob agreed to read The Brazen Shark. This is what he says: “Airships battling! Samurai fomenting war with Russia! Historical characters and powerfully drawn fictional ones mixing it up with political intrigues make David Lee Summers’ The Brazen Shark a steampunk novel not to be missed. Put it at the top of your reading list. Now!”

In the last few months, well-meaning folks have asked if it matters when they buy my book, or in what format. For the most part, the money to me is about the same no matter how you buy it, but this is one of those times it does matter. When you pre-order a book it sends a message to my publisher, Amazon, and really the entire industry if the sales rank goes high enough, that this is a book that matters to you. So, if you were going to buy the ebook and you’re a fan of the series, I hope you will pre-order the book. It’s only about the cost of a grande or venti mocha at Starbucks, and it’ll last longer!

Here are the links to all the books in the series:

And, if you want any of these autographed, I can! There’s a cool, free service called Authorgraph and you can find all my novels there. If you request an autograph through them, they will send me an email and I’ll send you a personalized PDF inscription you can store on your ereader. How cool is that! Request an Authorgraph today!

Now, I know a number of you out there don’t do ebooks and that’s cool. I love print, too! Never fear, the print edition is on its way. A little owl told a friend of mine that it might even be out a little before the February 1 ebook release. I’ll be sure to announce here when the print edition is available.

8 comments on “The Brazen Shark Available for Pre-Order

  1. ericamilesx says:

    I’ve already pre-ordered The Brazen Shark, and, based on my reading experience with the previous books in The Clockwork Legion Series, I very much look forward to reading this one. I enjoyed the synopsis you included in this blog post. And I never even realized there was a past history of steampunk science fiction until I read about it here.

    • Thank you, Erica and much appreciated! I hope you enjoy this one. I’m already starting the process of outlining book 4, Owl Riders. There are a lot of other great Seampunk books out there. Jani and the Greater Game by Eric S. Brown, The Peschawar Lancers by S.M. Stirling and Worldshaker by Richard Harland are all ones you might enjoy as well. And of course, there’s the Empire of Steam and Rust novellas by Bob Vardeman, Steve Sullivan, Sarah Bartsch and myself. You can find links to those at http://www.davidleesummers.com under the Books tabs under Revolution of Air and Rust.

  2. ericamilesx says:

    P.S. Your covers are exquisite! You have a very talented artist.

  3. ericamilesx says:

    Wow! What a wonderful collection of covers! I’ll definitely keep Artist Laura Givens in mind for the future!

Leave a Reply

