Wild Wild West Con 5

Next weekend, I’m honored to be a guest at Wild Wild West Con 5 held at Old Tucson Studios just outside Tucson, Arizona from March 4-6, 2016. Click on the link above for more details. This year’s theme is Journey Around the World. Among the honored guests are Steam Powered Giraffe, Thomas Willeford, Unwoman, Kato, Aiden Sinclair and many more. Below is my schedule for the event.

W5_forWebsite1-300x240

Friday, March 4

  • 2pm – Wagon Stage – History Meets Fiction. Join me for a special multi-cultural steampunk reading. I’ll present accounts of New Mexico witches and Japanese spirits, then share sections from my novels these stories inspired.

Saturday, March 5

  • 2pm – Arizona Theater – The Wild West: Real and Mythical. A look at the real West vs the West that Hollywood has given us with an emphasis on Native American, Latin American, and Asian cultural contributions and influences. Joining me on the panel will be David Grasse, Julia Arriola, and Mark Cantwell.
  • 5pm – Sheriff’s Office – Astronomy Around the World. People all around the world have looked up at the stars. I’ll you to such places as Ecuador, Korea, and the Middle East to see how astronomy changed the world and perhaps provide some inspiration for new types of steampunk stories and gadgets

Sunday, March 6

  • 11am – Courtroom Central – Multicultural Steampunk Literature. The ever delightful Madame Askew and I will lead a discussion of steampunk books set in other cultures. Who does their homework and presents the most interesting insights into parts of the world that aren’t just Victorian England or the Wild West?

Brazen Shark-300x450

When I’m not on panels, you’ll be able to find me over at the Stage 2 Vendor Area at one of the artist tables. This event is particularly special because it also is my debut signing for The Brazen Shark. If you already have a copy, be sure to bring it by for me to sign it. If you don’t have a copy yet, never fear, I’ll have plenty of copies available for sale.

4 comments on “Wild Wild West Con 5

  1. Skylar Khan says:

    Dear Mr. Summers,
    Thank you belatedly for coming to the Arizona Inn a couple of weeks ago… Right after work without sleep or breakfast to speak to Gloria’s Science Fiction Group.
    And thank you for your typed Path to Writing. Your presentation was inspiring and positive.
    Thank you again,
    Sincerely,

    Skylar

    • You’re absolutely welcome! I had a great time and I actually did have breakfast before driving down from the observatory. 🙂

      I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed the presentation and I hope to see you at another event in Tucson before long.

  2. ericamilesx says:

    Hope you have a great time there, David, and also hope you promote your books!

Leave a Reply

