Too Early for Halloween Decorations?

As long as I can remember, people have complained about Christmas decorations appearing in stores earlier in the current year than the previous year. This year is the first time I can remember people commenting—mostly in a lighthearted way, it seems—about Halloween decorations appearing early. As it turns out, I actually don’t mind a little lead time on the Halloween season. I love Halloween, but because of my observatory job, I only get a couple of weeks at home in a month. If I’m working on a writing or editorial deadline, I might not get to a store that has decorations to remind me Halloween is approaching until very close to the date. fsf-sep2016 Also, although I attend several science fiction, steampunk, and comic conventions each year where cosplay is encouraged, I don’t often get to go full-out since I’m appearing as a professional on panels. Halloween is a definite chance to play.

Speaking of conventions, when I was at Bubonicon in Albuquerque a couple of weeks ago, I picked up a copy the David Gerrold Special Issue of The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction from Gerrold himself. He was kind enough to sign it for me. The issue has proven to be worth the money just for Gerrold’s fine science fiction novella “The Further Adventures of Mr. Costello” and Peter S. Beagle’s “The Green-Eyed Boy,” which is a prequel to The Last Unicorn. However, I’ve also been enjoying the fact that the issue contains several spooky tales about ghosts and murder most foul. It’s done a great job getting me into the Halloween frame of mind!

2020-visions As an aside, David Gerrold is actually the first professional science fiction author I met. We met at a convention in California circa 1981 and he signed my copy of his book The Trouble with Tribbles which told how he created the Star Trek episode of the same name. I was honored to appear alongside Gerrold in the anthology 2020 Visions edited by Rick Novy. The anthology tells stories set in the year 2020. You only have a little more than three years to find how good we did predicting the future!

Back on the subject of Halloween, this is one of those years where I have to work at the observatory on the big day itself. Unfortunately, that means I can’t really go all out on costuming this year, but I’m still thinking about dressing up. Perhaps I’ll go as an astronomer’s ghost in honor of my forthcoming novel, The Astronomer’s Crypt!

4 comments on “Too Early for Halloween Decorations?

  1. Dressing up as your character is a great idea, especially on days when you have a signing or reading scheduled.

    • Absolutely! I actually did a signing in Santa Fe a few years ago dressed in Scarlet robes with vampire fangs, like my Scarlet Order vampires. It was very effective. And, I often dress in steampunk garb when I’m promoting my steampunk books.

  2. David B Riley says:

    It’s never too early for Halloween decorations. But Christmas decorations are up in some stores. That’s too much. I’m at Mile Con the weekend of Halloween, will barely get home by Halloween so i may not get much Halloween celebrating done.. Hope to get to Nightfall –you can see it easily through your telescopes [ha, we know you’re spying on us down here in the desert of Tucson.]

    I don’t think I’d make a good Sarah Meadows, but you’re welcome to dress like her whenever you want bucko.

    • I definitely agree about the Christmas decorations. You’ll have to let me know how Nightfall is. We used to go when we lived in Tucson and enjoyed it.

      I don’t think I’d pull off Sarah Meadow very well either. At best I’d be Miles or maybe Nick. Or maybe I could put on an owl mask and become Ah Puch.

Leave a Reply

