2016 Election Season

First off, a reminder. I’m at Phoenix Fan Fest this weekend. Drop by the Dark Arts Commics booths A625 and A627 to say hi to me and fellow Las Crucen Daniel Thomas.

Politics and government fascinate me. Because of that, I’m watching this year’s election in the United States closely and I definitely plan to participate by voting. Although politics and social issues do tend to appear in my fiction, I don’t write about them much in this blog. The reason has to do with the power of science fiction and fantasy. These genres allow us to step away from our daily experience and look at things afresh through a new lens. I think that new lens is most effective if the reader doesn’t have a preconceived notion of my stance on issues, so don’t worry, I’m not going to try to sell you on one candidate or another here.

history-of-the-kings-of-britain

A few weeks ago, I was honored to be asked to write a science fictional take on an Arthurian story for a forthcoming anthology called Camelot 13. I love Arthurian legend and delving into some of the oldest versions of the story, such as the version in Geoffrey of Monmouth’s History of the Kings of Britain. Part of my fascination extends to the politics embedded in the legend. In many ways, King Arthur and President Ulysses S. Grant strike me as similar, in that both were arguably great military commanders who had less success as heads of state, in part because they were distracted by the shenanigans of those who surrounded them. This isn’t really the element of the lore I explore in my story, but the science fictional lens lets me look at characters such as Arthur, Mordred, and Guinevere without a lot of the preconceived baggage a lot of readers will bring to those characters. I’m pleased to say the story was accepted and I hope to have more details about the book soon.

Of course, during the political season it’s hard to escape people’s opinions on the candidates or even the process of democracy. One of the most compelling pieces I read was an article the related Discovery Channel host Mike Rowe’s opinions on voting. According to Rowe the only misinformation in the article is that he wrote his words in August and not as a response to the debate. I find myself agreeing with a lot of what Rowe says about the right and responsibility of voting. If you’re an American citizen, I do encourage you to go out and vote, but I ask you to perform your due diligence and research the candidates at all levels and evaluate not just their politics but their competence and whether or not they can do duties they’re being elected to perform.

One interesting thing about living in Southern New Mexico is that I’ve had the opportunity to meet some interesting politicians. As an example, I was once called in to jury duty and found myself questioned by the Doña Ana District Attorney of the day, Susanna Martinez. As it turns out, Martinez is now governor of New Mexico and, at least briefly, was bandied about as potential Vice Presidential material. Whether or not you consider Ms. Martinez a serious choice for that role, this experience reminds me that often times our local politicians are the very people who ultimately become our national politicians. Finding competent people for local offices helps to assure that we find competent people for national offices. This is part of why the research element I mentioned is so important.

One of the hallmarks of the United States is that it is a republic and not a monarchy like that of King Arthur. Presidents, congressmen, supreme court justices have power, but ultimately they answer to us. They’re not our bosses. We’re theirs. I encourage you to act like it and hold them accountable by doing your homework and then voting.

4 comments on “2016 Election Season

  1. Jack Tyler says:

    Powerful admonition, my friend. I only wish more people would. A few years ago, we had an election out here in California where the choices were so awful that the next day, our local newspaper led with a political cartoon, which was the state flag; the bear had a clothespin on his nose, and underneath, instead of “California Republic,” it said I VOTED! Have you gotten the feeling this presidential season that, along about Halloween, the National Committees are going to say, “Okay, we’ve had some fun and caused a few heart attacks. Now, here are the REAL candidates?”

    • Thank you, Jack. Yeah, that’s why I wrote this. Even if I encourage one or two more people to vote I feel like I’ve done a service. Also, given the tenor of modern elections, I think it’s good to remind both the electorate and the elected whose supposed to be in charge! A better slate of candidates would definitely be a pleasant Halloween surprise!

      • David B Riley says:

        I rarely write or comment about political issues. But this year people I know wouldn’t even let their children watch the debates because of the vulgarity of one of the candidates. I only hope it’ll be over soon. A tie can go into the House of Representatives and not be decided until February. Oh, yes I voted. I always vote early.

      • Thank you for voting, David. And yes, the level of vitriol in this election is truly unprecedented. For me it’s a lesson in never think it can’t possibly get worse!

Leave a Reply

