The Horror of Time Management

My daughter recently wrapped up another semester’s midterms in college, which presented her with a nearly overwhelming set of projects and exams. On top of that, she has a job with its own set of responsibilities. At the same time, I’ve been juggling quite a few projects as well. I’m drafting a novel, shepherding an anthology through its final phases of publication, promoting those books that are already out. Of course, I also have the “day” job of operating telescopes. Included in my job duties is oversight of the telescope operation manuals, which keeps me busy by itself. Given our different time management challenges, we had a good discussion about the subject and how to move forward without feeling overwhelmed.

The photo shows me with both of my daughters a couple of years ago at Gator Chateu in Jennings, Louisiana. The picture is kind of a metaphor. If you think of projects as alligators, they’re easy to handle and kind of fun when they’re small. The challenge is when they get big and you have several of them at once!

I’ve been seeing several articles in recent months that suggest multitasking is counterproductive. I can believe it. To extend my alligator metaphor, it’s like trying to go up against all the gators by yourself at once. You’re more likely to get eaten than get something useful done with the gators. Not multitasking sounds great until you’re confronted with the reality of several big projects and looming deadlines.

The first thing to realize is that it’s actually rare for all deadlines to fall at the exact same time. Even when deadlines do occur at the same time, there’s nothing saying you can’t finish one project early if possible. The first thing I like to do when confronted with several looming projects is figure out which things need to be done first. Also, some projects require more complete attention from me while others require me to contact a person and then wait for a response. This part is like getting your alligators into separate enclosures so you can deal with them one at a time.

To step back a little and make this more concrete for writers, this is why I think it’s invaluable for a writer to have good, regular writing habits. For me, it’s much easier to write productively in a small block of time if I have been writing routinely every day. If I take a long break from my writing, that’s when anxiety starts to build regarding what I’m going to write about. That’s when I spend long periods of time staring at the computer trying to figure out what words I’m going to be using. If I’m writing regularly, I can look at my outline, see the scene I want to write, then sit down and get it done in the block I have available. If you write by the seat of your pants, you won’t be looking at an outline, but you might think about the last scene you wrote and decide where you’re going.

Editing and book promotion can both involve some amount of writing emails or making phone calls and then waiting for responses. A daily routine that often works well for me is to wake up, check my email and see if there’s anything I need to deal with right away. I take care of what I need to, and then set aside those tasks that either don’t require an instant response or can’t be finished instantly. At that point, I turn off my email program and turn off the ringer on my phone. I write to the goal I have set myself. That goal varies depending on the project, but it’s often a thousand or two thousand words. Once that goal is done, I turn the phone back on and restart the email program, check for messages and move on to longer term editorial work.

Now, you’ll notice, I’ve not addressed the observatory job. One thing I like about my job is that while I work long hours at the telescope, I only work for about six or seven nights every two weeks. So, all my work taking data at the telescope and drafting manuals happens at the observatory and is only occasionally done at home when there’s a pressing deadline or a safety issue that needs to be dealt with right away. This kind of schedule isn’t for everyone, which means you need to adapt your schedule to your routine. It may mean smaller blocks of time every day for every job you do, or it may mean you do some jobs on some days and other jobs on other days.

After awhile, it starts to look like multitasking, but really I try hard to focus on one job at a time as much as possible.

I also didn’t mention family time in the equation, but for me, that’s perhaps the most important time of all and the least negotiable. It’s also probably a better reason for showing a photo with me and my daughters than a silly alligator analogy. When I’m at home, I typically stop work at 6pm to be available to my wife and daughters as they need. There are exceptions. Among other things, sometimes my younger daughter has after school activities or homework that take her attention for a while. Sometimes she works on that while I work on a project. When I’m at the observatory, I’m away from home, but I make time to Skype with my family every day and I’m available to take calls as needed.

So, to sum up, if I’m working on several long-term projects with deadlines, I like to prioritize those projects with earlier deadlines. I block out my day so I make progress on all my projects, taking it one thing at a time. I try to build up good habits so that limited blocks of time are productive. I recognize what I need to make myself productive at each type of project and try to maintain those conditions.

All of that said, yeah, I still get overwhelmed at times. Sometimes then, the best thing to do is take a break, go for a walk, clear my head and look at it all afresh. Sometimes then, those alligators don’t look quite as big as I thought the first time and I’m able to wrestle them into their compartments and get on with my life.

5 comments on “The Horror of Time Management

  1. Jack Tyler says:

    In the immortal words of Douglas Adams, “I love deadlines. I especially enjoy the whooshing sound they make as they go by.” Seriously, though, sounds like you have a good handle on managing these pesky life-disruptors. Of course, as a retiree, the only sort of deadline I have to manage is getting in for my checkup every six months or so, that sort of thing. My demon is Project Burnout. My management style is to work on one project for a week, then put it aside and take up another. That way, I stop working on any given one while I’m still excited by it, and by the time I get back to it, I can’t wait to jump back in.

    And now that I’ve wasted my comment on a completely unrelated issue, have you seen the new site that William and Alice are putting together as a refuge for Steampunk Empire orphans? I’m sure they’ve told everybody they know, but if you haven’t, Email me, and I’ll send you the URL… Then delete this blatant piece of spam from your blog; this really isn’t what I come here for!

    • I’ve certainly had more than my share of deadlines go rushing past! Actually that alone warrants a reply simply because it covers a topic I thought about but didn’t get to because I thought I’d already rambled on long enough — be honest with yourself and those you’re working with when you realize there’s no way you can make a deadline. Some deadlines are surprisingly flexible and you never know until you ask. Also people are more willing to work with you if you speak to them ahead of time about not being able to meet the deadline than if you let it run past and people are wondering where things are! I’ll drop you a note about William and Alice’s new site. I’ve seen a little about it on the Facebook group, but as noted above, the alligators have been on my heels lately!

  2. paigeaddams says:

    Lol, please teach me your ways! I love the title of this post too – you’re speaking to my heart here. XD

    You can probably tell from my sporadic posting that I’m the worst ever at time management, and life management in general. I totally fly by the seat of my pants and try to multitask waaaaaay to many things at once, which results in me dropping most, if not all, of the balls I had in the air.

    I’m slowly getting better about it. I can make a schedule for myself, but I think it really comes down to making time for things, rather than trying to smoosh it all together, lol. The one thing I haven’t tried yet is setting a specific block of time to write. I’m definitely going to try that. 😀

    • LOL. Thank you! I’ve hardly managed all the nuances of time management, and there are more than a few moments of stress and some slipped deadlines, but I find this approach helps to keep those to a minimum. As far as regular writing schedules are concerned, I think different approaches work for different people, but the important thing is to stay in the habit. The longer the breaks, the worse the anxiety when you sit down to write the next time. At least, that’s what I’ve been finding for me!

      • paigeaddams says:

        Absolutely! The longer I go without writing the more stressed I become too. Lol, I may always fly by the seat of my pants, but a little more structure wouldn’t kill me. XD Now that I’m finally self-publishing I need to be more mindful of my time, and setting some aside to write regularly.

Leave a Reply

